Sunday, 16 June 2019 | 11:31 WIB

7 Indonesian Representatives Set to Compete at Singapore Open Quarterfinals

7 Indonesian Representatives Set to Compete at Singapore Open Quarterfinals (liputan6)

SINGAPORE, NETRALNEWS.COM - A total of seven representatives from Indonesia have managed to advance to the quarter-finals of the 2019 Singapore Open badminton tournament at the Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore.

Based on the official website of BWF, in the men's singles sector, there are two representatives of the Garuda Team, namely Anthony Sinisuka Ginting who will face Chen Long from China and Jonatan Christie who will fight Viktor Axelsen from Denmark.

Just like the men's singles, in the mixed dual sector there were also two representatives, namely Hafiz Faizal / Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja met Malaysian couples Chan Peng Soon / Goh Liu Ying and Ricky Karanda Suwardi / Pia Zebadiah Bernadet against Tan Kian Meng / Lai Pei Jing from Malaysia .

Furthermore, the men's doubles sector, Indonesia has three representatives, including Mohammad Ahsan / Hendra Setiawan against Malaysian couples Goh V Shem / Tan Wee Kiong and Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo who will face their teammates, Fajar Alfian / Muhammad Rian Ardianto.

There were no representatives of the Red and White Team from the women's singles and women's doubles who qualified for the quarter-finals. Indonesian women's singles representative Ruselli Hartawan was stopped in the second round after being defeated by South Korea's Sung Ji Hyun with a score of 17-21 and 7-21.

Meanwhile, the women's doubles represented by Yulfira Barkah / Jauza Fadhila Sugiarto were also defeated by Japanese pair Mayu Matsumoto / Wakana Nagahara in two games with a score of 21-23 and 17-21 in the second round which took place on Thursday (11/4).

The 2019 Singapore Open tournament takes place from 9 to 14 April 2019 at the Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore. The total prize contested in the Super 500 level badminton tournament reached 355,000 US dollars.

The quarter-finals match will be held on Friday (12/4) and starts at 13.00 local time.