Saturday, 25 May 2019 | 10:25 WIB

Luka Modric Maintains La Liga Dominance at Ballon d’Or

Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modrić (special)

MADRID, NNC - The best players in the world view LaLiga as their home. The Ballon d'Or annual award for the best footballer has been running since 1956, and as many as 22 titles have been given to players who play in Spain.

For the past 10 years, the footballers who have been chosen as the best players in each year of the Ballon d'Or have always played for Spanish clubs.

In 2018, the award was won by Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modrić. The Croatian player won the Ballon d'Or, breaking the dominance of his former teammate Cristiano Ronaldo and Antoine Griezmann of Atlético Madrid.

This is the 11th time a Real Madrid player has been named the best footballer in the world, which initially began with Alfredo Di Stéfano in 1957 and 1959, followed by Raymond Kopa in 1958.

Then Luis Figo in 2000, Ronaldo Nazario in 2002, Fabio Cannavaro in 2006, and four titles won by Cristiano Ronaldo in 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017.