Thursday, 24 January 2019 | 17:14 WIB

54 Ambassadors Boycott Israeli Ceremony for US Embassy in Jerusalem

Finance Minister Steven Mnuchin along with Ivanka and Jared Kushner attending the opening ceremony of US Embassy in Jerusalem, Monday (5/14/2018).

YERUSALEM, NNC -- As many as 54 of the 86 ambassadors to Israel, boycotted a ceremony hosted by the Israeli Foreign Ministry last night in Jerusalem during the transfer of the US Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem on Monday (5/14/2018).

The Haaretz newspaper reported that most EU member states they did not participate in the ceremony because they had a firm policy against the transfer of the US Embassy in Israel from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem. It is said that the ambassadors of Russia, Egypt, India, Japan, and Mexico did not attend the celebration either.

According to Haaretz, 32 ambassadors participated in the ceremony, including only four of the EU countries: Austria, Hungary, Romania and the Czech Republic, as well as five European countries that are not EU members: Albania, Macedonia, Serbia, Ukraine and Georgia.

Meanwhile, ambassadors from 12 African countries attended the ceremony, such as Angola, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Kenya, South Sudan, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Zambia and Rwanda.

From Central America, the ambassadors of five states participated in the celebrations: Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Panama and Honduras, and from South America, only Paraguay and Peru participated. Four Asian countries are represented: Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Earlier, the US Embassy was moved from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem on Monday. The US delegation arrived in Israel early Sunday, led by the daughter of US President Donald Trump, Ivanka, her husband Jared Kushner and Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin, to attend the opening ceremony of the embassy. On December 6, 2017, Trump announced Jerusalem as the capital of the occupying entity, which triggered the outrage of the Arab world and the Muslims.